UNXIGNED is independently run by a team of freelance writers and music curators helping underrated artists get the attention they deserve and guilt-tripping fans into checking out the irresistible. Help us keep the lights on with your riches, you lucky mortals or, better yet, give it to the most needy.

As winter clutches New England again, Izzy Heltai explores the pandemic-intensified version. The loneliness of isolation, the apathy born from unexpected monotony, and how even major life changes lose their sparkle flit through the notes of “Day Plan”.

This wonderfully melancholic wash of sound comes from Izzy Heltai’s vocals and guitar, Garrett Salazar’s drums, Andy Cass’ bass, and Micah Katz-Zeiger’s eclectic collection of musical talents that fill every other instrument the band wants to include. Together, they bring the narrative of someone moving into a one-bedroom apartment during the pandemic into gut-wrenching reality.

“Deep down I don’t trust myself”; “I don’t like myself much these days”; and “my anxiety won’t let me sleep,” Izzy admits. Myriad confessions dot the verses as a start-and-stop chorus mirrors the unexpected monotony imposed by socially distancing. As the narrator comes to terms with this shift in reality, the music does too.

See also  Joe Kaplow - "How Old Is My Soul"

Finally, the reluctant dismissal comes. “Go on. Get going with your day plan.” The listener is sent away, feeling slightly better, but still left dealing with the same aftermath as the rest of the world.

Stream “Day Plan” below.


Support independent music journalism. Support UNXIGNED.

UNXIGNED is all about the indie. As an independently run music and artist discovery blog, UNXIGNED's core values are founded on the belief that music, being a universal language and an essential part of culture, must be celebrated no matter the scene an artist represents. It is our mission at UNXIGNED to help deserving indie artists—seasoned and new—be heard globally and to produce quality content for readers and listeners to enjoy.

If you approve of this cause and wish to show your support for its upkeep and furtherance, you may do so by making a donation in any amount through these channels:


Buy Me a Coffee


If you're in the Philippines and have GCash, you may send your donation by scanning our QR Code through your GCash app.

We understand that not everyone is in the position to donate, given the most pressing problem we all face these days. Alternatively, you can show some love by simply spreading the word about UNXIGNED and the music you care about.

Leave a Reply


Highlighting the finest of underrated music.

Grow with us!